“Tokyo Calling” (srg-uk dotcom)

Hello! In honor of the 2020 Summer Olympics, this week’s postcard features the 23 special wards of Tokyo, Japan! I purchased the letterpress postcard from a stationery shop in Berkeley, California.

The special ward area is an administrative system which balances the responsibilities between the metropolitan government (who handles water, sewage, and firefighting services, for example) and the local ward governments (who handle issues, such as welfare, education, and housing.)

The 23 special wards of Tokyo are:

  1. Chiyoda
  2. Chūō
  3. Minato
  4. Shinjuku
  5. Bunkyō
  6. Taitō
  7. Sumida
  8. Kōtō
  9. Shinagawa
  10. Meguro
  11. Ōta
  12. Setagaya
  13. Shibuya
  14. Nakano
  15. Suginami
  16. Toshima
  17. Kita
  18. Arakawa
  19. Itabashi
  20. Nerima
  21. Adachi
  22. Katsushika
  23. Edogawa
  • The world’s busiest intersection is located in Shibuya (13th ward)
  • The Olympic Stadium is located in Shinjuku (4th ward)
  • Ginza, the popular upscale shopping district, is located in Chūō (2nd ward)

Over the years, I have accumulated hundreds of postcards from around the world, which I’ve either purchased from my local antique shops or received from thoughtful jet-setting family and friends who know I collect them. When I travel, I also like to send myself a carte postale just for fun!

I hope these postcards will make you want to revisit a favorite vacation spot or to embark on a journey to the destination of your dreams (when it’s safe to travel freely again, of course!)

And if you’ve been to the destination featured, tell me about your experience there – I’d love to hear from you.

Until the next Wednesday Postcard, take care!